Watching DVB-T television on my Ubuntu

September 25, 2009 at 11:58 am 2 comments

As mentioned in the edit of my previous post, I got my DVB-T stick working without any big problems. Nevertheless here are the steps I took to get it fully working! The DVB-T stick is a Pinacle 72e dvb-t tuner usb stick.

1. Use Kaffeine in the beginning. It is the simplest DVB-T player. Scan for channels and play, that’s it.

2. Then I followed this guide to get MythTV working. MythTV is a more advanced mediaplayer than Kaffeine. It is especially good in working with TV capture cards and everything related (timeshifting, recording, pausing, …). It can even work with several capture cards. The disadvantage is that the configuration is a bit counterintuitive.. (but with the guide in your hands you’ll be safe)

3. I got a problem with my audio-jack, when I plugged in my speakers or a headphone, nothing happened. I used these steps to solve the problem.

4. You can select MythTV to run on a second display in the setup (select screen “1” instead of screen “0”).

5. My EPG (program guide) took the longest time to setup. The best way to go depends on the country in which you live. I live in Belgium and found the following approach to work well:

177  sudo apt-get install libc6-i386
178  sudo apt-get install lib32nss-mdns
179  mkdir ~/mc2xml
180  cd /home/karel/mc2xml/
182  ls
183  rm index.html\?h\=o9wxhzm
184  ls
185  chmod 755 mc2xml
186  sudo ./mc2xml -c us -g 10000
187  sudo ./mc2xml -c be -g 9000 -o xmltv.xml
188  ls
189  cat xmltv.xml
190  sudo ./mc2xml -c be -g 9000 -o xmltv.xml
191  sh myth_script.sh
192  ls
193  sudo sh myth_script.sh
sudo apt-get install libc6-i386
sudo apt-get install lib32nss-mdns
mkdir ~/mc2xml
cd /home/karel/mc2xml/
–> download mc2xml from http://mc2xml.110mb.com/ and save it in the created folder
chmod 755 mc2xml
sudo ./mc2xml -c be -g 9000 -o xmltv.xml
Then I used the script from this site to convert the channel names to something more readable and fill the MythTV database. My replacements file looks like this:
I203250.750821.microsoft.com/een
I217250.750822.microsoft.com/ketnet-canvas
Make sure you change the “xml tv channel id” in MythTV backend channel editor to the same one you selected in the replacements file (e.g., “een” or “ketnet-canvas”). Now everything should work and MythTV should show the program guide:
mythtv
tvinfo
Note that MythTV even shows the channel icons, which I find really cool (even MediaCenter couldn’t do that).

Entry filed under: Uncategorized. Tags: , , , , .

Switched to Ubuntu! flash 10 on Ubuntu amd_64

2 Comments Add your own

  • 1. bram  |  October 26, 2009 at 10:39 pm

    Hi,
    I’m using MythTV for over 3 years now, first about half a year of trying on analogue cable, then 2 years on In.Di DVB-C, and nog a couple of months on TV Vlaanderen.
    I’m using MC2XML too, for EPG updates, with success..
    I just wanted to know if you had found the new “8” channel yet…?
    And where did you find it, how did you do the ‘replacements’ part for that new channel (and maybe some others introduced the last weeks and months)?
    Thanks for posting back!
    Bram

    Reply
  • 2. Karel  |  October 27, 2009 at 8:38 am

    Hey Bram, as 8 is not on DVB-T I don’t know if it’s in the EPG or not, I can take a look at it this evening if you like. But if you’re also using MC2XML and it’s not in it I’m afraid I can’t help you.. I guess it will be just a matter of time before the Microsoft EPG data is updated to support the new channels.

    Reply

Leave a comment

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Feeds

Articles to be written…

my del.icio.us

RSS Google Reader Shared Stuff

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.

RSS Listening to..

  • An error has occurred; the feed is probably down. Try again later.